Keep Pitta in balance in summer

Pitta in summer is cooled down.

Summer is considered the time when the Pitta dosha is particularly active. The dosha virtually fires up the life energies. The warm weather and the long days tempt us to do as much as possible. Sunbathing, a barbecue with friends, a cosy cocktail after work - it can be exhausting. Many people also find the hot weather and high temperatures very hard work. Are you sometimes exhausted, irritable and struggling with digestion? Then it could be that your Pitta is out of balance.

Summer time - Pitta time

The hot months from June to September are assigned to Pitta in Ayurveda. The dosha belongs to the elements fire and water and is characterised by hot, spicy, wet and humid. Physically, the bioenergy is said to be strongly related to digestion, vision, sexuality and hormones. Especially in summer, the pitta dosha is particularly active.

People with a Pitta constitution are often described as passionate and spirited.

When pitta gets out of hand, it manifests itself in mood swings, skin problems, sleep and digestive disorders. Especially hot temperatures and spicy food contribute to a rapid increase in bioenergy. Therefore, in the summertime, keep a cool head and pay attention to your fire dosha.

Cool food for a balanced Pitta in summer

For Pitta types it is especially important to keep calm! Stress, a lot of physical exertion and heavy, hot food overstimulate the dosha very quickly. It is better if you take things easy, refrain from sweaty sports during the heat and also pay attention to your diet.

Salad cools Pitta in summer
Cucumbers, tomatoes and salads cool down the pitta.

Pitta and the digestive fire Agni are closely related. In summer, Agni generally burns less than at other times of the year. This means that hearty, spicy and fatty foods are harder to digest. In general, make sure you drink plenty of fluids and eat cooling foods.
Fruits and vegetables such as cucumber, fennel, courgettes, beetroot, nectarines, apples and pears are just the thing. Crisp salads and light side dishes such as rice or eggs are ideal for warm days. Try to avoid hot foods and spices. Pitta-friendly herbs and spices are coriander, peppermint, turmeric, cumin or parsley. They help you to rebalance your dosha. You can find your own Pitta spice blend in our shop.

Cooling Pitta Recipe

A good tasting, protein-rich and vitamin-rich Pitta recipe is the lentil and beetroot salad with orange dressing.

You need:

  • 500g lentils
  • 1 - 2 fennel
  • 500 g beetroot (approx. 3 tubers)
  • 2 oranges
  • 3 tbsp. sesame oil
  • Coriander
  • Turmeric
  • Caraway

That's how it's done:

Lentils are good for Pitta in summer
Lentils are rich in protein and easy to digest.

Wash the lentils, put them in a pot and fill with enough water to cover the lentils completely. Bring the water to the boil and simmer the lentils on a low heat for about 25 to 30 minutes. The lentils are done when they are swollen and soft.

Take the beetroot tubers and put them in a pot of water. The tubers remain unpeeled! Bring the water to the boil and let the beetroot boil for about 30 to 50 minutes. The tubers are ready when you can easily pierce them with a knife.

Quarter the fennel and cut into small strips. Carefully peel the beetroot and cut it into small pieces as well. Put both in a bowl and mix loosely.

So it goes on:

For the dressing, grate a little orange zest into a container. Now squeeze the oranges and add the juice. Mix the juice with the oil, herbs and spices. You can add a small pinch of salt or pepper if needed, but try to keep the amounts as small as possible.

Take the lentils off the heat and drain them. Mix them carefully with the beetroot and fennel. Mix in the dressing. You can eat the salad warm or chilled.

For you

Sign up now for our newsletter & receive great goodies on the Ayurvedic lifestyle.

The protection of your personal data is very important to us. Therefore, we only process the information that we really need from you in order to send you the newsletter. In our privacy policy you can find out how exactly your data is processed. By clicking on "Receive newsletter" you agree that we may send you a newsletter and that you agree to our privacy policy.

Our latest contributions

Longevity: healthy ageing with European Ayurveda®
General

Longevity: healthy ageing with European Ayurveda®

Longevity, often referred to as longevity, is not only influenced by genes, but also by environmental factors and individual behavior. The holistic approach of European Ayurveda® offers you proven therapies and routines for healthy ageing.

Read more "
Detox Challenge: How to alleviate the side effects of a detox cure
General

Detox Challenge: How to alleviate the side effects of a detox cure

During your detox cure - especially in the course of detoxification - you may experience unpleasant side effects. Tiredness and bloating are among the milder symptoms. Headaches or circulatory problems, on the other hand, can really affect your mood and restrict you physically. So that you are optimally prepared for these cases, we have put together a small emergency first-aid kit including instructions for use

Read more "
Detox Challenge to cleanse and detoxify
General

Detox Challenge: gentle cleansing and detoxification with European Ayurveda®

A healthy, detoxifying diet, cleansing rituals for body and mind and mindful exercise can dissolve waste products and toxins in your body during a European Ayurveda® detox cure. To eliminate any remaining toxins (ama), you can plan a cleansing day a few days after the start of your treatment for a comprehensive detoxification of the body.

Read more "

Enjoy Ayurveda at home

Discover our products

Loading RSS Feed

Your gift

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our Big 5 for Life incl. constitution test and tips free of charge.

The protection of your personal data is very important to us. Therefore, we only process the information that we really need from you in order to send you the newsletter. In our privacy policy you can find out how exactly your data is processed. By clicking on "Receive newsletter" you agree that we may send you a newsletter and that you agree to our privacy policy.

Halte Pitta im Sommer in Balance

Pitta im Sommer wird abgekühlt.

Der Sommer gilt als die Zeit, in der das Pitta-Dosha besonders aktiv ist. Das Dosha beflügelt geradezu die Lebensenergien. Das warme Wetter und die langen Tage verlocken dazu, so viel wie möglich zu unternehmen. Sonnenbaden, ein Grillabend mit Freunden, ein gemütlicher Cocktail nach dem Feierabend – das kann anstrengend sein.  Viele macht das heiße Wetter und die hohen Temperaturen auch sehr zu schaffen. Bist Du manchmal ausgelaugt, gereizt und hast manchmal mit der Verdauung zu kämpfen? Dann kann es sein, dass Dein Pitta aus dem Lot geraten ist.

Sommerzeit – Pitta-Zeit

Die heißen Monate von Juni bis September werden im Ayurveda dem Pitta zugeordnet. Das Dosha gehört zu den Elementen Feuer und Wasser und zeichnet sich durch die Charakteristika heiß, scharf, nass und feucht aus. Die Bioenergie soll körperlich stark mit der Verdauung, der Sehkraft, der Sexualität und den Hormonen zusammen. Gerade im Sommer ist das Pitta-Dosha besonders aktiv.

Menschen mit Pitta-Konstitution werden gerne als leidenschaftlich und temperamentvoll beschrieben.

Wenn das Pitta überhand nimmt, zeigt sich das in Stimmungsschwankungen, Hautproblemen, Schlaf- und Verdauungsstörungen. Gerade heiße Temperaturen und scharfes Essen tragen dazu bei, dass die Bioenergie schnell einmal ansteigt. Deswegen heißt es in der Sommerzeit: Kühlen Kopf bewahren und auf Dein Feuer-Dosha achten.

Kühle Nahrung für ein ausgeglichenes Pitta im Sommer

Für Pitta-Typen heißt es besonders: Ruhig Blut! Stress, viel körperliche Anstrengung und schwere, heiße Nahrung überreizen das Dosha sehr schnell. Besser ist es, wenn Du Deine Dinge in Ruhe angehst, auf schweißtreibenden Sport während der Hitzezeit verzichtest und auch auf Deine Ernährung achtest.

Salat kühlt Pitta im Sommer ab
Gurken, Tomaten und Salate kühlen das Pitta herunter.

Pitta und das Verdauungsfeuer Agni hängen eng zusammen. Im Sommer lodert Agni generell weniger als zu den anderen Jahreszeiten. Das heißt, dass deftige, scharfe und fettige Speisen schwerer zum Verdauen sind. Achte generell auf viel Flüssigkeit und nehme kühlende Lebensmittel zu Dir.
Obst- und Gemüsesorten wie Gurke, Fenchel, Zucchini, Rote Bete, Nektarinen, Äpfel und Birnen sind genau das Richtige. Knackige Salate und leichte Beilagen wie z.B. Reis oder Eier sind optimal für die warmen Tage. Versuche, auf scharfe Speisen und Gewürze zu verzichten. Pitta-freundliche Kräuter und Gewürze sind Koriander, Pfefferminz, Kurkuma, Kümmel oder Petersilie. Sie helfen Dir dabei, Dein Dosha wieder auszubalancieren. Eine eigene Pitta-Gewürzmischung findest Du bei uns im Shop.

Kühlendes Pitta-Rezept

Ein gut schmeckendes, proteinreiche und vitaminreiches Pitta-Rezept ist der Linsen-Rote Beete-Salat mit Orangendressing

Du brauchst:

  • 500g Linsen
  • 1 – 2 Fenchel
  • 500 g Rote Bete (ca 3 Knollen)
  • 2 Orangen
  • 3 EL Sesamöl
  • Koriander
  • Kurkuma
  • Kümmel

So wirds gemacht:

Linsen sind gut für Pitta im Sommer
Linsen sind proteinreich und bekömmlich.

Wasche die Linsen, gib sie in einen Topf und fülle so viel Wasser hinein, dass die Linsen völlig bedeckt sind. Bring das Wasser zum Kochen und lass die Linsen auf kleiner Flamme ca. 25 bis 30 Minuten köcheln. Die Linsen sind gar, wenn sie aufgequollen und weich sind.

Nimm die Knollen der Roten Bete und gib sie in einen Topf mit Wasser. Die Knollen bleiben ungeschält! Bring das Wasser zum Kochen und lass die Rote Bete ca. 30 bis 50 Minuten kochen. Die Knollen sind fertig, wenn Du sie leicht mit einem Messer anstechen kann

Den Fenchel vierteln und in kleine Streifen schneiden. Schäle die Rote Bete vorsichtig und schneide sie ebenfalls in kleine Stücke. Gib beides in eine Schüssel und mische es locker durch.

So geht es weiter:

Reibe für das Dressing ein wenig Orangenschale in ein Gefäß. Presse nun die Orangen aus und gib den Saft hinzu. Vermische den Saft mit dem Öl, Kräutern und Gewürzen. Du kannst bei Bedarf eine kleine Prise Salz oder Pfeffer hinzugeben, aber versuche, die Mengen so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Nimm die Linsen vom Herd und tropfe sie ab. Mische sie vorsichtig unter die Rote Beete und den Fenchel. Mische das Dressing dazu. Du kannst den Salat warm oder abgekühlt essen.

Für dich

Melde Dich jetzt für unseren Newsletter an & erhalte tolle Goodies zum ayurvedischen Lebensstil.

Der Schutz Deiner personenbezogenen Daten ist uns sehr wichtig. Deshalb verarbeiten wir nur die Informationen, die wir wirklich von Dir benötigen, um Dir den Newsletter zusenden zu können. In unserer Datenschutzerklärung erfährst Du wie genau Deine Daten verarbeitet werden. Mit deinem Klick auf „Newsletter erhalten“ stimmst Du zu, dass wir Dir einen Newsletter senden dürfen und Du mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden bist.

Unsere neusten Beiträge

Longevity: Gesund altern mit European Ayurveda®
Allgemein

Longevity: Gesund altern mit European Ayurveda®

Die Langlebigkeit, oft als Longevity bezeichnet, wird nicht nur von den Genen, sondern auch von Umweltfaktoren und individuellen Verhaltensweisen beeinflusst. Der ganzheitliche Ansatz des European Ayurveda® bietet Dir bewährte Therapien und Routinen für ein gesundes Älterwerden.

Weiterlesen »
Detox Challenge: So linderst Du Begleiterscheinungen einer Entgiftungskur
Allgemein

Detox Challenge: So linderst Du Begleiterscheinungen einer Entgiftungskur

Während Deiner Detox-Kur – insbesondere im Zuge der Entgiftung – kann es zu unangenehmen Begleiterscheinungen kommen. Müdigkeit und Blähungen zählen noch zu den milderen Symptomen. Kopfschmerzen oder Kreislaufprobleme können hingegen richtig aufs Gemüt schlagen und Dich auch körperlich einschränken. Damit Du optimal für diese Fälle vorbereitet bist, haben wir Dir eine kleine Notfallapotheke inklusive Anwendungsanleitungen zusammen

Weiterlesen »
Detox Challenge ausleiten und Entgiften
Allgemein

Detox Challenge: Schonend Ausleiten und Entgiften mit European Ayurveda®

Eine gesunde, entlastende Ernährung, Reinigungsrituale für Körper und Geist und achtsame Bewegung können während einer European Ayurveda® Detox Kur Schlacken und Toxine in Deinem Körper lösen. Um noch verbleibende Giftstoffe (Ama) auszuleiten, kannst Du einige Tage nach Beginn Deiner Kur einen Reinigungstag zur umfassenden Entgiftung des Körpers planen.

Weiterlesen »

Ayurveda zuhause geniessen

Entdecke unsere Produkte

Loading RSS Feed

Dein Geschenk

Trage Dich in unseren Newsletter ein und erhalte kostenlos unsere Big 5 for Life inkl. Konstitutionstest und Tipps

Der Schutz Deiner personenbezogenen Daten ist uns sehr wichtig. Deshalb verarbeiten wir nur die Informationen, die wir wirklich von Dir benötigen, um Dir den Newsletter zusenden zu können. In unserer Datenschutzerklärung erfährst Du wie genau Deine Daten verarbeitet werden. Mit deinem Klick auf „Newsletter erhalten“ stimmst Du zu, dass wir Dir einen Newsletter senden dürfen und Du mit unserer Datenschutzerklärung einverstanden bist.